Makeup by Kist Ong / Maquillage

Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream: A Product Review

I think the BB (blemish balm) cream craze has gone and past but that doesn’t mean it’ll just fade away. BB creams have a lot to offer and they truly deliver. Well, that’s what I think. :)

I’ve been using a certain BB cream brand since last year and it was given to me by my former supervisor. It’s called Innisfree Eco Natural BB cream. Ang cute ng name no? Pampawala ng inis ba ‘to?

InnisFree Eco Natural Cover BB Cream

Here’s the back label. It’s in Korean which I have no idea how to read. harhar

Here’s a close-up of the front cover.

This BB cream came all the way from Korea. I don’t think it works well on me. It doesn’t suit my skin tone so I have to set it with colored powder to make it look better on me. Anyway, I’m not here to write a review about this. I just wanted to show you the brand I was using before I switched to Missha. :)

Here’s a short background of BB creams and what M Perfect Cover can offer according to Missha’s website:

Blemish Balm, also called BB Cream, is known to have been formulated as an after-treatment cream to help patients who have gone through laser skin surgery to soothe and regenerate the skin.

The M Perfect Cover BB Cream gives an even and natural-looking coverage with the soothing, moisturising properties of a cream. It is suitable for all skin types including acne-prone skin, and can be used as a makeup base or foundation.

I bought my Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream last Saturday at SM North ESDA. You can also find Missha products as Trinoma’s Landmark. They have a stall there along with other makeup brands. Make sure you ask for samples of their other products just in case you want to give some to friends. So here we go! :)

Product Review: Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream

First of all, I have to say that I’ve only been using this product for a week. These are merely comments and observations during that short period however, I will update this post accordingly for new observations in the future.

I got the Special Edition Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream from SM North EDSA. The only difference is that there’s a FREE 10mL sample included.

Here’s the back of the box.

Here’s how it looks like!

Back of the tubes.

I bought the No. 23 (Natural Beige) shade. I already knew what shade to buy since my sister has this same shade which works great on me. :)  Before, they only have two shades available but now, they’ve added more shades! I’m sure the SA would gladly help you find your perfect shade.

Check out the other available shades.

Application:

As per instructions on the box, apply Missha M Perfect Cover on your face and decoletege after your basic skin care. This would mean after cleansing, toning, and moisturizing or CTM.

In this picture below, I’ve applied Missha on the right side of my face and the whole forehead. The left side of my face only has moisturizer on. As you can see, the skin tone is uneven and my pimple’s RED! hahaha :D Compare the color of my under eye circles.

Left side: Moisturizer only | Right side: Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream (Special appearance: France, my little sister. She doesn’t need BB cream haha)

Before I apply Missha on my face, I put on moisturizer. This acts as a buffer between my skin and Missha. Moreover, it provides a better and smoother base for the BB cream. Kung baga, it’s like your primer. It’s comparable to a tinted moisturizer however, I think this is packed with a lot more benefits.

Applying this bb cream on my face is easy. A little goes a long way with this product so the whole 50mL tube would probably last you a year. Value for money there! I make sure I put some under my eye to cover my dark circles. I put small dots of it all around my face and spread it using my fingers.

Apply powder to set the BB cream. Applying powder will help make the BB cream last longer. No caking effect after! :)

Set the BB cream with powder. I used Ben Nye’s Tranluscent powder.

Here’s the before and after picture! :)

What do you think? :)

Coverage, Scent, and Finish:

The Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream has a matte finish. It’s great that way because I already have oily skin and I don’t want to add anymore shine to that. haha

Another thing I like about this BB cream is that it has full coverage. You can build the amount of coverage you like without the feeling heavy. So it sorta feels like your skin, only better.

What I do is I apply more on areas which need concealing such as under the eyes or even pimple marks and scars. This BB cream can handle these concerns but of course, using a concealer under this product isn’t a bad idea either.

Oh yeah! This product has a certain scent. It has a mild floral scent. Although some people find the scent overpowering, it isn’t to me. Besides, the scent fades away after.

Long – lasting?

For me, yes! This product lasts the whole day. I’ve notived that I don’t oil up as I normally would when I use my InnisFree BB cream. From 10 am to 3pm, my face is still clear of intense oilyness. hihi I only need to blot around my nose area after 3pm.

Price:

The Missha M Perfect BB cream costs Php 1,600 at the Upper Ground floor (SM Annex) of SM North EDSA. That’s the 50mL bottle. I think it’s a great deal considering the fact that it’s already a skin care product, sunblock, whitening cream, and a wrinkle and blemish eraser IN ONE!!! If you had to buy all of those as individual products, it’ll cost you more than that price! :)

Swatches:

I compared the InnisFree BB Cream and Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream.

Pros:

1. I love the fact that it’s an all-in-one product. Saves me money and effort. haha
2. High SPF level so no need for sunblock. We all need sunblock nowadays!
3. Price is justified by the product’s performance.
4. Great packaging. Very sanitary.
5. Scent vanishes after application! GOOD!
6. Very friendly for everyday use. 

Cons:

1. Sometimes you tend to pump more product than needed. Wastage. :( I guess you just have to control yourself.
2. It’s kinda big and bulky to bring and carry around. At least I have a 10mL bottle. XD
3. I hope it’s available all around the country to make it more accessible to people who want to use it.
4. Although this may pass as a foundation to others, it don’t think it’ll perform well as a foundation would (my opinion). I would use this, however, for a “No makeup makeup look.” :)

Phew! Lengthy review here! I hope this helps you buy the perfect BB cream! :) 

If you’re looking for an alternative, you can try tinted moisturizers. :) Laura Mercier has the best ones in the market. Do check that out. :) 

Let me know if you know other BB creams in the market that offers great results! :) Share them in the comments box below. :)

Love,
Kist XO 

15 thoughts on “Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream: A Product Review

  1. “Don’t think it’ll perform well as a foundation would (my opinion). I would use this, however, for a ‘No makeup makeup look.’”
    I agree, nung naubos yung foundation ko, nag try ako mag BB cream pansamantala habang di pa ako nakakabili ng refill. for a no makeup makeup look nga xa. It says in the packaging na can be used as foundation, pero parang not enough nga. Siguro pwedeng BB cream muna, tapos foundation ulit, pero dapat yung light foundation lang

  2. love this review kist!! its really helpful and i like it that there are lots of photos :) i will buy this na! haha!

  3. omg ang significant nung change sa “before and after” photo mo! hmm…i want to try this after ko maubos garnier bb cream ko haha! ok to sa acne-prone skin diba? cool reviews kat! love it!

Leave a Reply

