How Tos / It's Personal / Maquillage

How I Clean My Makeup Brushes

Hey there friends!!

Ever since I’ve been doing freelance makeup services, I’ve been cleaning my brushes more times than I clean my hair (Hindi. Joke lang iyon). haha Kidding aside, cleaning your makeup brushes is an important part of any beauty ritual.

Makeup brushes are your tools and you USE THEM ON YOUR FACE. If you haven’t cleaned your brushes for awhile now yet still continue to use them, I pray you won’t have breakouts.

Here are other reasons to clean your brushes:

  • because dirt and bacteria can “infiltrate and propagate” on your brushes and wreak havoc on your beautiful face
  • so you can prolong their life
  • for great results every time you use them
  • because you just have to! :D

So no matter what and how many makeup brushes you have, clean them. :D

If you don’t have a makeup brush cleaner, like I do, then opt for alternative cleaners you might already have in your very own KITCHEN!! <3

I got my recipe from various YouTube makeup gurus! Here’s my ingredients:

1. Nivea Baby Shampoo – for a great smell
2. Extra virgin olive oil – to help keep the brushes soft. it also helps dissolve the makeup products.
3. Joy Antibacterial dishwashing liquid – to kill bacteria and for extra bubble action

Cleaning Instructions:

1. First, I put the ingredients in a plate making sure that the three items are not mixed together. Sometimes, I put dip a brush more on one ingredient that the other that’s why I don’t mix them.

2. I get a brush and put it under the faucet. Only soak the bristles and not the handle. The glue holding the bristles together is there (the metallic part of the brush) so keep it away from water as much as possible.

3. Once damp, I dip the brush into each ingredient (extra virgin olive oil, baby shampoo, and dishwashing liquid).

4. I swipe the brushes on the palm of my hand. Pretty much like cleaning painting brushes. Bubbles should form and you should see the makeup dissolving.

5. Repeat as necessary until the bubbles are white! Then rinse thoroughly with running water! :D

Do that to all you brushes!! :)

How to dry brushes without losing their form?

I don’t have a brush drying thingy you can buy like that of Sigma’s so I improvise.

One of the easiest ways to dry your brush is by putting them on a towel and ¬†letting them dry. You can put the ends of the brushes on a platform (improvise and use whatever you can find such as a book) to make sure that the water flows out of your brushes. It’s as plain and simple as that.

I, on the other hand, use a different method. haha

Here’s a picture:

I basically use a hanger with clips on them and hang my brushes upside down to make sure the water drips out of the brushes. I’ve done this method before with my Chinese calligraphy brushes because I don’t want its shape broken after cleaning. The characters I make with a disfigured bristle brush don’t look nice. hehe

I’ve kept my brushes’ plastic guards (thank God I did) and use them as a “holder” so I could hang my brushes. I put scotch tape to secure them.

Now just a reminder: this is how I clean my makeup brushes. This isn’t the standard! :D I have yet to buy my own makeup brush cleaner (like Mac’s Pink brush cleaner and Make Up For Ever’s Green one) but when I do, I shall compare this method VS ready-made makeup brush cleaners. Hihi

I hope you found this post useful.

Follow me for more makeup tips, how to’s and whatnot!!

Love,
Kist XO

3 thoughts on “How I Clean My Makeup Brushes

    • Hello Jacquesdelight! Thanks for your question! I don’t think it’ll be harmful for your face. Olive oil and Baby soap also works! The (antibacteria) dish washing liquid is there to kill bacteria in your brush. But I guess, it’s all a matter of preference. :)

  1. Pingback: MAC Makeup Brush Cleaner and Etc! | Mignon Voice

Leave a Reply

